Who We Are

Our organization consists of Guiding Teachers, the Board of Directors, an Organizing Committee, Advisors to TNI and a network of volunteers.

Our 3-person Organizing Committee takes care of the daily running of the organization.  Our Board of Directors meets with the Organizing Committee three times a year to make recommendations on program direction, approve financial decisions, and lend overall guidance and support. Currently there are ten members of the board, and we welcome any expression of interest in serving on the board. Our Advisory Committee is made up of meditation teachers from the US and Canada.  Everyone involved with guiding and administrating TNI has experience with the practice and benefits of insight meditation. 

Our volunteers are the generous and gifted foundation of all TNI efforts. Graphic designers have created TNI’s promotional posters and brochures and designed the website.  Translators volunteer their time to make our website content and all promotional documents bilingual.  A consultant in organizational development has volunteered his services several times at pivotal points in our growth.  We have also had several professional fundraisers give us feedback and guidance.  In addition, a large number of volunteers in Ottawa, Montreal, Toronto and other cities and towns contribute their time and skills to accomplish many of the daily important tasks in support of the vitality of our organization.


meditation bowls


Guiding Teachers

Pascal Auclair

Daryl Lynn Ross

Jean Esther

Bonnie Duran

Roxanne Dault

Dawn Mauricio

Muriel Jaouich

More on our teachers

Board Members

Daryl Lynn Ross

Patricia Boushel

Helen Luu

Michelle Nicholls

Josephine Tcheng

Santiago Campero

 More on our Board Members


Organizing Committee

Janet Maxwell, Ottawa

Muriel Jaouich, Montreal

Bibiana Vera, Montreal


Advisors to True North Insight Meditation Centre

Matthew Flickstein, Founder of The Forest Way

Gil Fronsdal, Founder and primary Teacher, Insight Meditation Center of the Mid-Peninsula

Joseph Goldstein, Co-founder and Guiding Teacher of the Insight Meditation Society

Lynette Monteiro, registered psychologist and Director of Training at the Ottawa Mindfulness Clinic, Ottawa

Amita Schmidt, former Resident Teacher of the Insight Meditation Society

Gina Sharpe, Co-founder of New York Insight

Bhante Wimala, Spiritual Director of the Triple Gem Society